Heatherlands Primary School

Enjoying Learning Together

The Protected Characteristics

Promoting Equality and Diversity


There are 9 protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 and all schools should be able to demonstrate that no form of discrimination is tolerated and that pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.  


The 9 Protected Characteristics are:




•gender reassignment

•marriage and civil partnership

•pregnancy and maternity


•religion or belief


sexual orientation


At Heatherlands, rather than teaching all the protected characteristics in every year group, we ensure that our children are given opportunities to develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding through a well-planned and delivered curriculum.  


We believe that children should be able to recognise themselves and their circumstances so they can see their lived experiences validated and valued.   



Different families, same love